Rugby Closes Year With Awards Banquet

HBS Rugby celebrated the end of another successful season with their traditional team banquet. This year’s event was graciously sponsored by the Rock Bottom restaurant in Harvard Square, and featured a fine three-course meal along with a fine selection of adult beverages.

Players who had completed their first fall season with the team were presented with their very own HBS Rugby blazers, and several awards were given, based on performances throughout the season.

The “Rookie of the Year” Award will be awarded at the end of the academic year by reigning Rookie of the Year, Derek Mendez (DD).
Next up for rugby: Spring Tour in the Cayman Islands, and MBA World Championships at Duke in April.

HBS Rugby
Fall 2002 Award Winners

Most Valuable Forward:
Dan Gertsacov (NJ)

Most Improved Forward:
Bryan Vaniman (NF)

Most Valuable Back:
Jorge O’Hara (OI)

Most Improved Back:
Spence Kympton (ND)

“Mr. Rugby” Award:
Baron Hanson (FAS)

“Atrocity Belt” Award:
Charles Macdonald (ND)