CHAMPIONS: HBS Blades Win First McArthur Cup


On April 7, the HBS Blades Hockey Team was victorious for the first time ever in the McArthur Cup, the world’s largest MBA hockey tournament and a beloved Spring tradition on the HBS campus. Fourteen hockey teams were in attendance from across the continent, including an HBS Alumni team that made it to the B division finals before losing in a heartbreaking shootout.  The HBS B team went 2-2, gelling as the tournament went on but eventually losing the battle of attrition, with a groin injury hampering goalie standout Wade Coggins in the final elimination game.


Hockey hair and sunshine-filled hospitality were on full display for approximately 500 attendees at the Friday tailgate and pre-game party, graciously co-hosted by the Blades and Sponsor clubs Business of Sports Club and Rugby Club. The raucous crowd then witnessed the HBS A team overwhelm a depleted Wharton squad, half of whom must have missed the game due to their demanding Friday class schedules.

The game ended with a Lacrosse-esque score of 10-5, highlighting the defensive prowess and attention to detail of both squads. Luckily it didn’t even matter who scored because it was a track meet out there, but the team, led by Co-Captains Teddy Chestnut (OC) and Steve Bruch (OF) gave the fans what they wanted (except a fight).  HBS B then took on Tuck, earning a definitive 4-3 victory on goals by Captain Eric Adamson (OI) and John Coombe (partner NI).


The Blades were delighted to host teams from Wharton, UNC Kenan-Flagler, Kellogg, Suffolk Law, Babson, and Harvard Med/Law. Tuck’s teams provided friendly and competitive rematches from the Tuck tournament in Hanover last month. The University of Toronto’s Rotman team lived up to the expectations set during the HBS team’s visit to Toronto, their performance driven this time by impressive cameos on the third floor of the Hong Kong on Friday night.


The McGill team was comprised of a single McGill graduate and a team of newly minted college graduates that had never even seen McGill. Said one unnamed goon on the bench, “I’ve never been there, but I hear McGill is nice this time of year.” While the 2010-12 graduates of Dartmouth and Maine were not yet ready to be accepted into HBS on the merits of their brief work experience, they were fortunate that the McArthur admission standards were accidentally low enough to admit them for the weekend. The Blades wish them the best of luck in their future endeavors.


In a thrilling back-and-forth Championship game versus McGill/Dartmouth Young Alumni, HBS A claimed the McArthur Cup for the first time in its history. The team was initially powered by stunningly appropriate and motivating music selected by B team Captain Eric Adamson, but Co-Captains Chestnut and Bruch quickly took charge of their own destiny, leading a highly skilled team game centered around position hockey and crisp passing.

Sam Burke (OA), the A team fourth line grinder, opened scoring on an intelligent 5-hole finish from an opportunistic 2-on-1. He also scored a goal on the opposing goalkeeper. After spending all day wowing the crowd with his silky mitts, Nate Miller (NH) scored the second HBS goal, a skillful backhand high off the short-side post. Tensions were high running into the overtime period, but Nick Maietta (NH) proved that it’s never a bad idea to put the puck on net. In overtime, Maietta’s soft wrister from the right point banked in off the short side post over the screened McGill goalie’s glove, igniting an ecstatic celebration on the HBS bench and leaving the McDartmouth team to their dismay.


Beginning a tradition for the ages, the HBS Alumni formed an incredibly talented squad for the first time in McArthur Cup history. Many of the distinguished Alumni had sons and daughters old enough to be dating legally. Former Blades Dustin “He’s A” Mann (2012 I) and Mike “Blue Steel” Kenworthy (2012 I) served as the young blood with support from Kent “Oilman” Foster (2011 F) and keeper “Drinkin’” Dan Monahan (2011 G). Meanwhile, the Rockin’ 88 legends Neale “Chopper” Attenborough (A), Steve “Flow” Friswold, and Douglas “Jebber” Jebb (A) injected the Old Man Strength needed to brutalize opponents and crush Tommy Doyle’s and Bus Stop Pub, to boot. Former NHL player Mike McKee (1999 E) led the high level of play, but the team was ultimately let down by fluke goals and tough last-minute breaks in the B Championship. However, they were able to analyze a victory due to their higher goal differential and 1-1 record against the Suffolk Law victors.